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The Arizona Governor’s  
Office of Highway Safety 
and Director Alberto 
Gutier would like to take 
this opportunity to remind  
Arizona drivers that every 
child must be protected in 
the proper child safety 
seat or booster seat, every 
trip, every time! 
 

BUCKLE UP BABY! 

Phone: (602) 255‐3216 
Fax: (602) 255‐1265 

Toll Free: 1‐877‐355‐3216 
www.azgohs.gov  

Child Safety Seats 
and Booster Seats 
Work 

Facts about lives that are 
saved when using the proper 
child safety seat: 
 
 71% effective in reducing the 

risk of fatal injury for children 
younger than 1 year old 

 
 54% effective in reducing the 

risk of fatal injury for children 
1 to 4 years old 

 
 45% effective in reducing the 

risk of fatal injury for children 
ages 4 to 8 years old 

 
 Reduces hospitalization by 

69% 
 

SEE AN UNBUCKLED CHILD? 
 

CALL 1-800-505-BABY 

Buckle Up Arizona… 
It’s the Law 

Child Safety Seats 
and 

Booster Seats 
Save Lives 



Rear-      
Facing  
Seats 
For infants and 
children under 
2 years old  

 
Forward-
Facing 
Seats 
For children 
over 2 years 
old 

 
Booster Seats 
Required for children over 5 years 
old and under 8 years old, who are 
not taller than 4’9”  
 
      

 

 

Best Practices - 
 
 Use rear-facing child safety seat 

as long as practical or up to 2 
years old 

 
 NEVER place a rear-facing child 

safety seat in the front seat 
where an air bag is active 

 
 Always refer to the child safety 

seat manufacturer’s instructions 
for height, weight, and 
installation requirements 

 
 Keep children under 12 years old 

properly restrained in the back 
seat of the vehicle as long as 
practical 

 
 Always set a good example by 

doing your part in buckling up 

 
Child safety 
seat and 
booster seat 
use is the 
law in  
Arizona! 
 
 
Arizona  
Revised Statutes  
§28-907 A and B require: 
  
 A child safety seat or booster 

seat for children up to 8 years 
old 

 
 Correct use of child safety seat 
 
 Fines from $50-$250 
 
 Primary offense (An officer can 

pull you over and cite you) 
 

Not just a good idea —  

It’s the LAW! 

Buckle Up Baby! 


